Week 11: Crock Pot Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

With the most recent cold snap we’re getting in Ontario, and now a snowstorm rolling in tonight and Tuesday, it seemed like the perfect time to make some soup. I pinned this recipe a little while ago, so I was curious to see how it would turn out.

http://iowagirleats.com/2015/10/07/crock-pot-chicken-and-wild-rice-soup/

This recipe looks like a lot of ingredients, but half of them are spices. This recipe was fairly simple. The mincing of the carrots and onions took a little while, but otherwise it was pretty quick. Then I threw all the ingredients in the crock pot, snapped a Pinterest-worthy picture, then cooked it for 4 hours. 

The main substitution I made was the rice. I had white basmati rice and the recipe called for a wind rice mixture and I didn’t want to buy another whole bag of rice. I also substituted the chicken broth for vegetable broyh, again, because that’s what I had.

After it was all cooked, I shredded up the chicken, which was fun, and served up a bowl. The rice kind of fell apart, so in future I’d keep a closer eye on it. But I liked the mushy taste. It’d be a good food for when I’m sick and my throat hurts. The spices also went really well together, so it tasted really good. I was worried because it smelled very spicy when I was serving it, but I was pleasantly surprised! I’ll definitely be making this one again!

One thought on “Week 11: Crock Pot Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Leave a comment