Week 12: Spinach Lasagna

Right now at my placement, we are encouraging Meatless Mondays throughout March, and we send out a recipe idea every week. So I figured I should be practicing what I preach and I made this week’s recipe, spinach lasagna!

http://www.meatlessmonday.com/recipes/spinach-lasagna/

I printed this recipe off before really looking at it. I realized it called for tofu (which I have been skeptical of since my parents attempted to disguise it as cheese when I was a tween) and white beans (since Week 1’s recipe didn’t go as well as I hoped). But I bought them both and hoped for the best.

I made a couple changes to the recipe as I went. I didn’t want to buy a whole jar of marinara sauce, so I just used a jar of Ragu tomato sauce I already had. I also used mozzarella cheese instead of vegan cheese. I looked at the recipe and saw it called for “Nutritional Yeastand my first thought was “what is this hipster nonsense”?

This one was deceptive because it requires a bit of prep work, such as soaking the lasagna noodles, defrosting the spinach, etc. It probably sounds like I’m whining, but those parts took the longest time and I would have appreciated a heads up. I soaked the noodles wrong, because I thought we only soaked the noodles going on the bottom layer. I have no idea why I thought this, it might be because I thought I was soaking them in the pan I would later be baking them in, rather than a baking sheet. Pro tip: don’t stack the noodles as you soak them, because they’ll stick together and you’ll get this:

Also, I didn’t think to take the spinach out of the freezer to thaw until I got to the step in the recipe that required thawed spinach. But whatever, I thawed it in a bowl of water. It was my day off so I had time.

This was a big recipe, too big for my toaster over, so I put it in 2 load pans rather than a 9×13 pan. It tasted really good! The tofu was a good substitute for the ricotta cheese and the flavour was great! I have plenty of leftovers, so hopefully I won’t get sick of it! (If anyone in the GTA wants a loaf-sized lasagna, let me know, I’m not even joking. I’m starting to accumulate a lot of frozen  leftovers that I can’t eat fast enough!)

I forgot to take a picture, so here’s what it looks like as I was putting away the leftovers.

Leave a Reply

