Week 28: Lobster Dinner and Crème Brûlée

This week I didn’t use a recipe, I mostly just picked the meats and vegetables that I wanted and cooked them up into a fancy dinner. We went to the store and bought lobster tails, mussels, and red lobster biscuit mixture. We also saw some crab-stuffed mushrooms, so we bought those as well.

The biscuits were fairly easy to make, all i had to do was follow the instructions on the box. The mixture came with a garlic and herb packet to add to melted butter to garnish on the biscuits. We had some of this left over, so we used it to dip the lobster and mussels. We also had melted butter with lemon for dipping.

The mussels needed to be washed, scrubbed, and steamed. I used this guide to make sure I cooked them right. It had good tips on finding dead mussels. The cooking took 5-7 minutes.

We ate the mussels as the appetizer while the lobster tails were boiling. I used this article as a guideline for boiling the lobster. They took about 10 minutes to boil. We also had some carrots and cooked up some Brussels sprouts.

All of these tasted really good! Mussels and lobster are always a treat in our house, so I’m glad that I finally know how to make them.

For dessert, we had Crème Brûlée. The name literally means “burnt cream” in French. I had it when I was on exchange and it was delicious. Also, watching The Great British Baking Show combined with our current abundance of eggs (due to chicken-sitting for the neighbours) has inspired me to try making it. Once again, I am using a recipe from Gemma Stafford.

I prepared the custards earlier in the afternoon, so they would have plenty of time to cool. The only issue I had was that I let the cream mixture boil over because I looked away for a couple minutes. I was worried the custard would be ruined, but it turned out fine. The other thing was that I didn’t let it bake quite long enough, it was just a tiny bit runny when we ate it.

After dinner, I spread the white sugar over the tops of the custards and let that broil. I love the combination of the crystallized sugar and the custard, it was so yummy! I also tried adding semi-sweet chocolate chips to the bottom of one of the ramekins and it tasted amazing! It reminded me of a chocolate lava cake! These were so easy to make and so delicious, I’ll definitely be making them again!

Leave a Reply

