Week 25: Smoothie Bowl

Smoothie bowls seem to be the latest thing in hipster breakfasts. It also seems like a fun way to have a smoothie and I had some extra coconut water, so I thought I’d give it a try.

Here is the link to the original recipe. This page has a great make-your-own smoothie bowl recipe as well as many different smoothie bowl recipes. Here is the recipe I used:

Smoothie

  • 1 cup of frozen mixed berries
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup of coconut water
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup

Toppings

  • Sliced strawberries
  • Sliced banana
  • Corn flakes (or fruit loops if you ask your parents to buy those mini boxes of cereal and they get the one without corn flakes. I’m an adult.)

This was a really simple breakfast,  you just blend the smoothie ingredients, pour it in a bowl, then add your toppings,  then eat it up. The smoothie ingredients can even be prepped ahead of time to make for a quick breakfast. This was also very filling, so it’s good if you’re super hungry in the morning.

As for me, I’ll stick with toast and a hard boiled egg for breakfast. I prefer a savoury breakfast.

 

Leave a Reply

