Week 24: Dairy-Free No-Machine Ice Cream

Summer is finally here and I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a while, so I was excited to finally try it out! I think I’ve mentioned before that I am sensitive to dairy, so this recipe seems a little too good to be true. It’s only two ingredients to make the ice cream base, you don’t need an ice cream maker, and it’s made with coconut milk.

Here is a link to the full recipe. Below is the video showing how to make it. I love this YouTube channel! In our house we call the host “The Nice Irish Lady.”

I was asking my family what flavour of ice cream I should make and we decided on Toblerone! How could this go wrong?

I made the coconut condensed milk the night before and put it in the fridge so it’d be nice and cold when I make the rest of the ice cream. The next day, I cracked open the other cans of coconut milk (and the cats got excited when they saw the can opener) and put together the ice cream base. Once it was ready, I added some vanilla extract and a bunch of caramel sauce. I tried to make caramel ripples, but I think I mixed it too much, so I added some more caramel sauce. Then I mixed in some chopped up toblerone and it was ready to go in the freezer!

I made it in the afternoon, so we were able to have it with dessert tonight. It was delicious! You could taste the coconut, but it was a very mild. The coconut also complimented the caramel really well, which was something I didn’t expect. My only complaint is that the ice cream did come out a little crystalized, but there’s not much you can do to avoid that with homemade ice cream.

I was surprised by how easy this recipe was! The condensed coconut milk took some extra effort, but it was totally worth it! I highly recommend Bigger Bolder Baking for dairy or dairy-free ice cream recipes! I can’t wait to try more flavours!

Leave a comment