Week 22: Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Cooking with my vegetarian parents had been more of a challenge than I expected. I don’t know how my mom did it with kids as picky as us! My mom definitely made barbecued Portobello mushrooms before, but we were too picky to try them.

I found this recipe in a book I have called 5-10-15 (5 ingredients, 10 minutes prep time, 15 minutes cooking time) by Reader’s Digest. Here is a recipe close to the one I used.

Since this recipe has so few ingredients, it is very straightforward to make. There wasn’t a lot of prep work (as the cookbook title suggests), then we just wrapped them in tin foil and threw them on the barbecue.

These mushrooms were certainly stuffed! This recipe makes a lot of stuffing and we really had to pile it on the mushrooms. I wound up eating it like a pie or pizza by slicing it into bite-sized wedges. It was really good! The panko and the spices gave the whole dish a great flavour. This is a great vegetarian option for a summer barbecue, but it can also be made in the oven. I’ll probably be making this again, if I’m ever having a classy barbecue or dinner with vegetarian friends.

Leave a Reply

