Week 19: Zucchini and Carrot Roses Tart (aka SPP, Stupid Pinterest Pie)

I’ll admit, I didn’t realize how ambitious this week’s recipe was until I was 2 hours in and still not close to putting it in the oven. I found this recipe on Pinterest and it looked so pretty that I just had to try it. Don’t try to make this unless you have 4 hours to kill, or if you have a few people to help you do all the prep work.

Here is the recipe.

It takes a lot of effort to make a pie this beautiful. First of all, you need to get the colours. This recipe called for zucchini and “multi color carrots”. We could only find orange carrots. I didn’t even know there were other colours of carrots. We also got potatoes and sweet potatoes for extra colour. Then you need to get all of the vegetables thinly sliced. I used a mandolin, but you could probably also use vegetable peeler, and it takes a lot of time to do this. It helps to have wide vegetables (so don’t get carrots that are too small) and very thin slices (the ones that worked best for me were 1/16″), this makes them much easier to roll. The vegetable prepping and slicing itself took close to an hour and the rolling took another hour. Then the actual cooking takes 50 minutes. I mean, yeah, it looks great. But was that presentation worth all the effort? Probably not.

We didn’t actually eat this for dinner tonight. We were too hungry even before the pie went in the oven, so we made grilled cheese for dinner. I don’t even know if this recipe tastes good, but I’ll update this post as soon as we’ve tried it.

Update: We tried it and it tasted good! The only thing is the roses themselves were harder to eat because they’re bigger than bite-sized. I would recommend the ingredients and the recipe, but not the appearance. I did see a similar recipe where the vegetable slices were laid out flat along the edge of the crust and spiraled inward to the center of the pie, so I may try to make that one.

Leave a Reply

