Week 18: Kronk’s Spinach Puffs

Who doesn’t love Kronk? He made the Emperor’s New Groove! This week’s recipe was from a web series called Feast of Fiction which makes foods from books, movies, video games, etc. When I saw their video where they made Kronk’s Spinach Puffs, I knew I had to try it!

This recipe took a bit of prep work. Pro tip: put the frozen puff pastry out nice and early. I forgot, so I was scrambling to thaw it. There’s also the frozen spinach that needs to be microwaved and cooled, feta to be crumbled, onion to be chopped, etc. So it does take some time to prepare, but it is well worth the effort.

Going back to the pastry, this recipe makes enough filling for two squares of frozen puff pastry. I only thawed one of the squares, so we still have a bunch of the filling sitting in our fridge for next week. In terms of changes I made to the recipe, my parents are vegetarian, so I cut out the bacon and I realized that we didn’t have any dill, so I just garlic for extra flavour.

Yzma must be crazy if she doesn’t like these spinach puffs! They were delicious! They would make an especially amazing appetizer. I’ll be excited to make them again.

Leave a Reply

