Week 16: Stir Fry

This may seem weird, but I have never made a stir fry before. Mostly because we never had them growing up, and I never bothered to look up how to make one. They seem like a good way to get rid of leftovers. I’m moving soon, so I don’t want to have too much food left in my fridge. I have frozen shrimp (which I meant to use for fried rice but never did), some extra veggies, some frozen rice and most of the ingredients to make the sauce, so we’ll see how this goes.

Here is the link to the recipe I used.

This recipe took quite a bit of prep work, since the actual stir-frying doesn’t take very long, and you don’t have time to chop up vegetables or prepare the meat while something else is cooking. So I’m glad the recipe writer warned me about this. The recipe also has lots of other good tips.

For this recipe, I used carrots, yellow pepper, green beans, and onion. For the meat, I used shrimp. And for the sauce, I used vegetable broth, soy sauce, and sugar. I didn’t use vinegar because I didn’t have any and I didn’t want to buy a whole bottle of it before moving.

This was a tasty and simple meal, but it did take a bit of time. I like how versatile it is, I can combine whatever meats and vegetables I have and all I need is some broth and soy sauce. I’ll definitely be making this recipe again!

Leave a Reply

