No way! It’s Norway! – Part 1

So I was in Norway for the weekend. No big deal.

IMG_5984

My friends Maggie and Heather messaged me about a week ago asking if I wanted to go to Bergen, Norway, so here we are! There are five of us total: Me, Maggie, Heather, Margy, and Mateo. We left at 10pm on Friday night, arrived at 11:30, and got to the hostel around 12:30. Incidentally, it is fun to stay at the YMCA!

IMG_5992

After settling in to our room, none of us were very tired, so we decided to look around the town, which was surprisingly busy for 1:00am. There were a lot of street performers out and a lot of loud Norwegians on the street.

DSCN0496

There were also lots of interesting sculptures dotted around town.

We continued walking and came upon small green with a gazebo in the middle. Needless Taylor Swift poses ensued.

We then found a small man-made lake within the city, which reminded me of the Dutch, who enjoy moving lakes just because they feel like it.

DSCN0509

We got back to the hostel around 2am and after a few hours of sleep, we embarked on a journey up the mountain! (Or as Heather, our Scottish friend, called it: a hill.) But first we stopped to enjoy the harbour and old fish market.

The Fløyen mountain is about 425 m (1,394 ft) tall. There is a train that goes to the top, but one of the Bergen guides said it was only a 45-minute climb to the top. Yeah right. It took us about 2 hours to get to the top (including several breaks to take pictures and, you know, breathe) and 30 minutes to get back down. It’s Monday as I’m writing this and my legs are still sore.

Along one of the paved trails, we found a statue of a reindeer, so naturally we had to pose with it!

All the way up the mountain the views got better and better, which would make sense, but it was still gorgeous! The paths started out as the main roads and some paved trails. All the trails were surrounded by great mossy rocks, thick old trees, and the occasional waterfall from the melting snow.

Many people live on the mountain, we hit the highest community about halfway up. I can’t imagine how amazing it would be to wake up to this view everyday! I wouldn’t want to get used to it!

DSCN0593

After the last community, the trails started to get more trail-like, as in: unpaved, snow-covered, tree-surrounded paths up the mountain. Needless to say, I’m glad I wore my rubber boots instead of my running shoes!

DSCN0599

Another thing we quickly noticed about Bergen is that the weather can change in an instant. We saw blue skies, blizzards, hail, fog, and everything in between!

DSCN0605

The snowier parts of the mountain reminded me the most of Canada. I wanted to go cross-country skiing up there it was so nice! There were even some kids tobogganing up there!

At the top, there was a cafe, gift shop, and look out area. I got a nice video of the I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

We enjoyed a nice lunch atop the mountain and we were thinking of heading back when we looked out the window and all we saw was white. So we decided to wait out the blizzard and continue sipping our coffee/hot chocolate.

After that, we made our way back down the mountain. We took a slightly different route through a rockier area, instead of just forest. This area made me feel like I was in the middle of a Norwegian folk tale and a troll was going to jump out at me any minute!

The walk down hurt our legs because it was so steep. There was a train (which I wanted to take not because I was tired, but because it looked like fun), but the others thought it was too expensive and too steep.

Back in town, we decided to look at Bryggen, an old trading center and a World Heritage Site. The buildings reminded me of the ones in Copenhagen, except these ones are made of wood.

We finished the day with dinner at the hostel, card games with some Autralians, then wandering around the city again. We found a group of Americans at the hostel so we joined them and one of the Australians in looking for drinks but wound up just giving up after an hour and getting tacos.

DSCN0694

Leave a Reply

